Building For Future Success. Your Club, Your Community


Club Sponsors

  • a-ernies-bar.png
  • ashvale-logo.png
  • c-canterbury.png
  • cbre-logo.jpg
  • clarke-auctioneers.jpg
  • coffee-shop.jpeg
  • d-q-club.png
  • financial-broker.jpg
  • jones-logo.jpg
  • Kia.jpg
  • kn-logo.gif
  • q-club.png


WRFC on Facebook


Wicklow Under 16’s – Leinster Premier League Champions

Wicklow Under 16’s – Leinster Premier League Champions

Wicklow U16’s won the Leinster Premier League title last Saturday with a fantastic 12 – 0 victory over a very strong Naas side. Having lost to the same opposition in the Quarter Final of the Cup only 7 days ago, the Wicklow lads knew that they would be in for a real battle in the final and so it proved to be. The Under 16’s reached the League Final after coming through both the League Group Phases unbeaten and then saw off North Kildare 17 – 7 in the semi-final.


The final was played at Cill Dara RFC and thankfully took place in good weather conditions. Wicklow brought a large vocal & colourful travelling support, which was greatly appreciated by the squad. Wicklow made a great start to the game putting some early pressure on the Naas defence, however Naas stood firm and it wasn’t long before they started to get on top. For around 10 minutes the Wicklow lads were under some serious pressure, however some fantastic defending, which included some fantastic tackling from Jack Gibney and Cormac Murray kept Naas at bay.
Having absorbed all this pressure from Naas really well, Wicklow started to get a grip on the game. The forwards were beginning to win plenty of ball, with the outstanding Luke Thompson being a real handful for Naas. Wicklow were particularly strong in the set pieces, with the excellent front row of Dylan Delamere, Mark Nicholson and Cian O’Sullivan starting to make life very difficult for Naas.

In a ten minute spell in the run up to half time, Wicklow were starting to play some great rugby. Half backs Scott Burleigh & Paddy McKenzie were a superb link between the backs and the forwards as Wicklow started to get on top. Strong running from centres Adam Cullen and Cian Reynolds was starting to put real pressure on the Naas defence. Some resolute defence from Naas managed to hold out the Wicklow lads with second row Brian Shortt & winger Cormac Doyle just being stopped short of the line. With minutes of the half remaining another terrific break, this time from Paddy McKenzie, almost ended with a Wicklow try, with the powerful No 6, Dylan Byrne just being held up short of the line.

After the break, with the score still at 0 – 0, it was more of the same from Wicklow, with the lads continuing to play some great rugby. 5 minutes into the second half Wicklow finally got their reward. Following a series of pick and go’s, Burleigh fed Nicholson who made a great drive for the line & was just held up just short of the line, however after another couple of further attempts to get over the line the ball was recycled to Wicklow’s No 8, Luke Thompson who crashed over the line for Wicklow’s first try of the game. The try was converted by captain Mark Nicholson and Wicklow were up and running with a 7 – 0 lead.

Wicklow continued to apply the pressure on Naas with second row Sam Porter proving a real handful for them both in the loose and out of touch. Anything offered by Naas at this stage was being really well defended by Wicklow, with the back three of Cormac Murray, Jack Farmer and Cormac Murray were all magnificent under the high ball. Replacement scrum half, Cormac Fenton, came on and slotted in seamlessly to continue to provide a fine service to his back line.

With 10 minutes to go Wicklow scored their second try, when Brian Shortt touched down after a number of players had been held up short of the line. It was just reward for the Wicklow lads and despite the try being unconverted Wicklow now had daylight between themselves and Naas.
Wicklow continued to play some fine rugby right up to the end of the game and when the final whistle was finally blown, that was the signal to start the celebrations! Wicklow’s captain Mark Nicholson collected the Cup and behalf of the squad who have all been magnificent throughout the season. This trophy is a reward for the full Under 16 squad who have managed to get through a full League campaign without losing a single game. The team is lucky to have such a large squad of players and this is one of the real reasons for their success. Many congratulations to the Wicklow Under 16’s on a magnificent League campaign.

Under 16 Squad: Mark Nicholson (Captain), Scott Burleigh, Oliver Carey, Adam Cullen, Jack Farmer, Sam Hodgkinson, Mathew ‘The Bull’ McGettigan, Cormac Murray, Patrick O'Keane, Cian O'Sullivan, Sam Porter, Cian Reynolds, Paul Rice, Luke Thompson, Conor Vize, Patrick McKenzie, Rossa Marron, Cormac Doyle, Brian Shortt, Jack Gibney, Dylan Delamere, Dylan Byrne, Cormac Mitchell, Cormac Fenton, Daniel Rooney, Conor Martin, Kieran Prendergast, Patrick Sammon, Rory O'Neill, Dean Mackey


WRFC - Calendars

  • Wicklow RFC v Dundalk RFC - J2 Leinster League - Div 1A (05-Jan-2019)
  • Wicklow RFC v Dundalk RFC - J1 Leinster League - Div 1A (05-Jan-2019)
  • Boyne RFC v Dundalk RFC - J2 Leinster League - Div 1A (12-Jan-2019)
  • Boyne RFC v Wicklow RFC - J1 Leinster League - Div 1A (12-Jan-2019)
  • Wicklow Senior Women v Garda Senior Women - Leinster League - Di (13-Jan-2019)
  • Balbriggan Senior Women - V Wicklow Senior Women - Leinster Leag (20-Jan-2019)
  • Wicklow Senior Women v Clondalkin Senior Women - Leinster League (10-Feb-2019)
  • Wicklow RFC v Ashbourne RFC - J2 Leinster League - Div 1A (16-Feb-2019)
  • Wicklow RFC v Ashbourne RFC - J1 Leinster League - Div 1A (16-Feb-2019)
  • Gorey Senior Women v Wicklow Senior Women - Leinster League - Di (17-Feb-2019)
Show more...

BoI Proudly Sponsors WRFC


Design by